Back to Events
Bookstore Finances

2023 Bookstore Finances Course - Registration is full, join waitlist

The course begins Monday, March 27th. Registration opens 02/27

Monday, March 27, 2023
5:00 PM - 6:30 PM (EDT)

Online

Event Details

The Spring 2023 Bookstore Finances Course starts on Monday, March 27 and classes are at 5 pm ET/ 4 pm CT /2 pm PT.

The course has 15 classes and will run through July 24, 2023.

Registration opens February 27th at 1 pm ET / 12 pm CT / 10 am PT

Information about the course is on our website: please review this before you register.

PLEASE NOTE: Before you register you must join PBS as a member. Membership is free, and joining ensures you receive our newsletter with important updates and deadlines about the school and our courses. Your record after you join is called your "Member Compass" and you can visit and revise information there at any time.

As a requirement of the course, students must be a store owner or manager who can access the store's financial information. Their stores must be members in good standing of the ABA and/or their Regional Trade Association.

Registration is $400. Students whose stores are current members of NAIBA, MPIBA, and CALIBA are eligible for discounts (please contact your association headquarters for the discount code before you register, as discounts can't be applied after registration is finalized).

Registration is limited to 20 students, with no more than one employee from each store. 16 seats are open for first come/first registered, while 4 seats are reserved for students who fall under our Diversity/Equity/Inclusion policy.  There are required questions about diversity status when you register.

For More Information:

Elliott batTzedek
Elliott batTzedek
Event Manager Main Point Books

How the Course Works

This course is geared towards store owners and/or managers who handle finances on a day to day basis and is for educational purposes only, meaning no certification is earned for this course. By the end of this course, students will have completed projects that help them create: a regular system for reviewing and analyzing Profit & Loss and Cash Flow; a working Chart of Accounts in alignment with ABACUS; operational expenses and payroll budgets; an ongoing financial dashboard.

The course meets online via Zoom on Monday nights at 5 pm ET / 4 pm CT / 2 pm PT. Each class is approximately one and a half hours.  The classes are live, and participation is required.

The course uses Discord as our platform for information, chat, and homework. Discord is free to join, and an invitation will be emailed to students after registrations.  Students also receive a twice-weekly newsletters with information about the class.

Each class covers a different topic and can include guest speakers from the industry. Classes also include some small groups and other interactive elements.